Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Albio Sires

Representing the 8th District of New Jersey

Congressman Sires Introduces Legislation Disapproving Russia’s Inclusion in Future Group of Seven Summits

Aug 30, 2019
Press Release

(Washington, DC) – Today, Congressman Albio Sires (D-NJ) introduced a resolution that would disapprove Russia’s inclusion in future Group of Seven (G-7) summits until it respects the territorial integrity of its neighbors and adheres to the standards of democratic societies.  The resolution comes as a response to President Trump’s announcement at this year’s G-7 summit that he intends to invite Russian President, Vladimir Putin, to next year’s summit.

“Russia was suspended from the Group of Eight (G-8) in 2014 as a direct result of its actions in Ukraine, including the illegal invasion of the Crimea region,” said Congressman Sires. “Russia’s future inclusion in the group was specifically conditioned on its respect of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity.  Since 2014, Russia has not changed course but instead increased its aggressive actions in the Ukraine and has undermined democracy in numerous other nations, including our own. If President Trump ignores the conditions that the international community set on Russian inclusion in the G-7, he is going against codified U.S. law and the consensus of the international community.  He is also weakening our ability to negotiate by once again showing President Putin that his aggressive actions will not have the stated consequences. It is my ardent belief that we must not allow Russia to re-enter the G-7 until it ends its occupation of Ukrainian territory and abides by the standards of democratic societies.”

The resolution condemns Russia’s assaults on democratic societies worldwide, reaffirms the House of Representatives’ support for Russia’s suspension from the G-8, and calls on all leaders of the G-7 to oppose the readmission of Russia until it meets the previously set conditions.  Other original cosponsors of the legislation are: Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ), Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ), Rep. Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Rep. Katie Hill (D-CA), and Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN).