Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Sires Congratulates New Jersey Agencies and Institutions for Being Awarded Federal Safety Grants

Sep 17, 2019
Press Release

(Washington, D.C.) – Today, the Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) announced the awarding of several grants to New Jersey agencies and institutions.

These grants awards, which total nearly $774,000, are awarded to state agencies and institutions that are working on programs to ensure pipeline safety and train first responders on how to address situations where hazardous materials are present.

The first grant award is PHMSA’s Competitive Academic Agreement Program, which awarded $250,000 to the Stevens Institute of Technology to work on the development of a distributed fiber optic sensor network. Stevens’ work in technology is important to our state and it keeps our country on the cutting edge of technological development.

The One-Call Grant, which awarded $52,000 to the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities, is used to finance a program to improve pipeline damage prevention programs and to improve the state’s investigations of excavation damage to pipelines. The Hazardous Materials Emergency Preparedness Grant, which awarded $371,831 to the New Jersey State Police’s Hazardous Materials Response Unit, is aimed at helping state agencies train first responders on how to address incidents involving hazardous materials. The final grant award is the State Damage Prevention Grant, which awarded $100,000 to the New Jersey Department of Treasury, will help finance pipeline damage prevention enforcement, including conducting inspections and addressing responses.

“Our state deserves access to resources that help us do important safety work and I am sure that these grants awards will go a long way towards keeping us safe. I look forward to seeing the positive impact that this money will have,” said Rep. Sires.

PHMSA is the federal agency in charge of developing and enforcing policies that address the safe transportation of energy and hazardous materials.